Thankful and hungry for more. - Reisverslag uit San Antonio, Verenigde Staten van larsbes - WaarBenJij.nu Thankful and hungry for more. - Reisverslag uit San Antonio, Verenigde Staten van larsbes - WaarBenJij.nu

Thankful and hungry for more.

Blijf op de hoogte en volg

13 December 2014 | Verenigde Staten, San Antonio

(This is a nearly exact translation of the jibber-jabber in the previous blog, for the curious minds)

Hey everyone!

It's been a while... Don't worry, I'm still alive - my promise to write a blog every other week has tragically died halfway through the semester, though.

While I'm starting this, I'm not really sure what to talk about yet, but normally my keyboard-tapping fingers will come up with something anyway. I feel like I have been settling down and spreading my roots here at Trinity for the last couple of months. Before coming here, I could've never known how seamlessly I fit into Trinity: the university gives me routine and structure, but also the freedom I needed. I am being academically challenged, I'm practicing under the guidance of an amazing pole vault coach and I'm creating the weirdest friendships.

It's fun to see how not just me, but all the freshmen are gradually calming down. A big part of our freshman class began this semester as a group of young adults who broke free of the hold of their parents and were ready to use that opportunity to the fullest. While that mentality was clearly there at the first few parties, everyone calmed down quickly as the semester advanced. Now that everyone's got to get to know eachother a little, you can see more and more couples popping up too - but I'll tell you guys more about that later... Raincheck.

I could write an entire Odyssey if I were to tell you all about the last couple of months, but I'd probably end up erasing it all again, because some stories just aren't meant to be written down when your family is reading along. The parties are amazing and even the themeparties, although I used to strongly dislike dressing up, end up to be hilarious. Either as a Roman emperor, a lifeguard or a cholo - but always with the three trackstars: Miro, Chris and me. Miro is a decathlete from New York with a B-cup chest that keeps numerous girls up at night, and Chris is my fellow pole vaulter who can make everyone completely lose it with his insanely fast oneliners. There's a real brotherhood being formed between me and the other two trackmorons. Together, we power through our daily workouts, wolf down as much Mabee-food as possible and then contently hobble to a lounge to scribble down some homework.

The three of us celebrated (my first) Thanksgiving together too, thanks to the hospitality of Chris's parents, Peggy and Paul. Being the athletes we are, we filled the 5-day break solely with volleyball and pingpong. The dinner itself was amazing - turkey, ham, stuffing, and probably around 17 other incoherent but fantastic dishes were shoved onto the table for us to eat ourselves sick with. Oh, and ofcourse everyone was thankful. But mostly hungry.

Flashforward to now. It's the 12th of December, the second reading day. All classes are cancelled so we can study for the finals that start tomorrow, but mine aren't starting until the 16th. So for now, I decided to write a little. Procrastination is real. In a week I'm flying to Orlando to get some rest and see my family again, and from the 1st to the 13th of January I'll be citytripping through Holland to see as many friends and familymembers as possible.

See you!

Lars

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Verenigde Staten, San Antonio

Mijn eerste reis

Recente Reisverslagen:

13 December 2014

Thankful and hungry for more.

13 December 2014

Dankbaar en hongerig naar meer.

30 Augustus 2014

Don't be a stranger.

22 Augustus 2014

Acronymen en adviezen

18 Augustus 2014

To inTrinity and beyond!

Actief sinds 14 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 1983
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5358

Voorgaande reizen:

14 Augustus 2014 - 31 December 2014

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: